How is it treated?
The only treatment for celiac disease is a lifelong, strict gluten-free diet that is avoid foods containing wheat, barley, rye and oats. Prohibited products are foods containing flour (bread, rusks, pies, pizzas, biscuits, pastries, cakes, etc.), pasta, deli meat, canned food, mayonnaise, mustard, sauces, creamy cheese, some beverages, beer, etc. There is a wide variety of naturally gluten-free products such as fresh meat, poultry, game and fish, milk and its products (yoghurt, feta cheese, cheese), all fresh vegetables, pulses, rice, corn, fresh fruits, oil. These foods contain valuable nutrients for the diet of people with celiac disease as long as the preparation is done at home. When it is a pre-prepared or processed food, the possibility that gluten is included in the processing is large. For this reason special attention should be always paid when consuming these foods. Moreover it is not safe to consume food stuff where it is indicated that wheat is not contained because they may contain gluten from other grains (barley, rye, oats). Also, some medicine may contain gluten as an excipient. Indicating on the label that the product is gluten-free, is the only way to ensure the patient.